Sign in to follow this  
tess11

How?

Hello all. I'm new to Voyageurs, and a first time poster, though I've been lurking for a while. I knew there had to be lovers of the Beautiful Game out there...it's good to have found you!

I have a confession to make: I don't watch MLS games. I follow the rankings, and have been to TFC games, but... I love European footie. Manchester United is my club (I know, I know. I can hear the hissing from here! But unless you can give me reasons other than they have a large fanbase, lots of money, and have been consistent winners for years, I'm not buying it. It always sounds like trophy envy to me) and Germany is my national side.

I'm a girl, so I don't know tonnes of statistics, or who played with whom back in '73, and how great that shot was in the 89th minute when Dortmund beat Valencia -- there no doubt are women who do know, but I'm not one of them. I just love the game, think it's the best sport out there, and really wish more North Americans understood it. I feel bipolar, waffling between calling it soccer and football, so I usually compromise with footie, which heads off any confusion with N/CFL.

My fascination comes about from having European parents, and having lived overseas for years as a child. I'm aware of the differences in culture, attitudes and opinions between North America and Europe, and have witnessed these in sporting events.

I'd like to ask a few questions of the forum members, if that's allowed. I'm writing an article for a school assignment, and I've elected to write about footie: the world-wide presence of the game, the growing popularity of the game in North America (which I think is true, and not only because of the celebrity excitement of Becks in LA), and its ability to unite diverse cultures.